Spain is a multilingual state. There are four official languages: Spanish (espanol = castellano), Galician, Basque and Catalan. Spanish is the official and compulsory language of all regions of the Spanish state. Catalan is, besides Spanish, the officiallanguage in Catalonia, Valencia and the Balearic Islands. Basque is, together with Spanish, the official language of the autonomous community called the Basque Country and Galician is the officiallanguage in Galicia. The citizens of Catalonia are the only ones of all the autonomous communities of Spain who are obliged to know both of their official languages. In other mentioned autonomous communities the knowledge and use of the second language - besides Spanish - is regarded as a right. Since each of the enumerated autonomous communities has two official languages, it signifies that these regions are bilingual. In other regions which have not been mentioned the official language is only Spanish, therefore they can be described as monolingual.