The Master's thesis The transformation of the relation of executive and legislative powers in Finland after 1982 enters on the form of the Finnish political system during almost past thirty years. First, it defines terms "semi-presidentialism" and "parliamentarism" on a basis of Duverger's, Shugart's and Carey's and Sartori's perception. Both terms are crucial for a subsequent analysis of the Finnish formal and material constitution. Then, it follows authors' view of the Finnish issue. Consequently, it focuses on a development of the constitutional system of Finland after 1982. It deals with the original Constitution of Finland of 1919 and the Parliament Act of 1928, and their updated versions of 1982, subsequently with a modification of the Finnish political system between 1982 and 1999, and finally with the current Constitution of Finland adopted in 1999 and in effect since 2000. Eventually, it analyzes a practical functioning of Finnish political system after 1982, thus an activity of presidents Mauno Koivisto, Martti Ahtisaari and Tarja Halonen and their relation to a parliament and a government. The purpose of the Master's thesis is the first of all to confirm the presumption that current Finland is a parliamentary and not a semi-presidential system, then to specify to what extent the material constitution applies to the formal one and finally to assess the feature of gradualism in the Finnish political system.