In 2008 after the Russo-Georgian August five-day war Russia recognised Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region (also referred to as Samachablo or South Ossetia) as sovereign states. Later Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nauru and Syria also recognised the de-facto territories' independence. In 2011 Vanuatu and Tuvalu followed the same path of recognition. 1 2

Yet, they renounced the decision shortly afterwards, amid establishing diplomatic relations with Georgia

in 2013 and 2014, respectively.3

Following the 2008 Russo-Georgian War, the OSCE Mission had to withdraw from Georgia due to the pressure from Russia and no consensus among the other participating states. The EU was urged to play a more significant role in the conflict resolution in the region.4

Consequently, an extraordinary European Council called for the accelerated process for Georgia's approximation to the

EU, as the Union saw the importance of expanding the continent's security zone.5